Thankful Thursday {featuring Cake Batter Ice Cream recipe}

Hey everyone! Welcome to this week’s…

What is it that you are thankful for? So many things happen each and every day, some people would call them little miracles, but others would simply call them blessings. This week, I’m thankful for my blessings…

  • I’m thankful for Tanner Park, a beautiful little oasis for children AND adults to go play. This week, we were going to take the kids to Johnny G’s but come to find it was closed for the day. But the park came to the rescue! Not only did the kids have fun but it was free and outside in the fresh air!
  • I’m thankful for the power of prayer. This week I have experienced more than once just how powerful a single heart-felt prayer can be – praise the Lord for listening to us and coming to our aid!
  • I’m thankful for my 2-year-old nephew’s chuckle. No matter what I’m thinking or doing at the time, when he chuckles I can’t help but chuckle right along with him. Really, is there anything more pure than a child’s laughter??
  • I’m thankful for being able to replicate a popular yet expensive dessert from an ice cream parlor, right in my very own home!! Which leads me to the recipe of the week!

In this week’s edition of Thankful Thursday, I will be sharing my recently discovered recipe that simply rocks my world.

Anyone with an ice cream machine can easily make ice cream, but have you ever made ice cream without the machine? You can, and you should! Not until last week did I realize I could pull this recipe off, this delectable, creamy, smooth, rich ice cream with only an electric mixer. Not to mention, all it takes is three ingredients, three cheap easily accessible ingredients. And the flavor options are endless…

For me, I have always been a die-hard fan of ColdStone’s cake batter ice cream. You would be too, if you tried it. And when I discovered that I could make ice cream without the machine, ColdStone instantly popped into my head. The basic ice cream recipe I have for you does indeed only require three ingredients, and then from there you can get creative. So first, I will start with the basic recipe. But be cautious! If you do decide to make the cake batter twist on this recipe, you will have to say goodbye to ColdStone for you will never have a reason to go back there!

The Basic Ice Cream Recipe without The Ice Cream Machine

2 cups heavy cream

1 (14 oz) Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 tbsp vanilla extract (if you really dig vanilla, you can go beyond a tablespoon)

  1. In a large bowl, pour in the heavy cream and the vanilla extract. With your electric mixer, beat the cream until stiff peaks form
  2. In a separate large bowl, pour in the condensed milk.
  3. Fold (be careful not to stir) the cream into the milk.
  4. Pour mixture into a freezer-friendly tupperware, and place in freezer. Wait a day until completely frozen and enjoy!

Now, onto the most delectable…

Amie's Cake Batter Ice Cream

Amie's Cake Batter Ice Cream

Cake Batter Ice Cream

To turn the basic recipe into the cake batter version is simple, but will need a few extra ingredients:

1/3 of canned white frosting

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2/3 cup cake mix (any flavor is good I think, but I used white cake mix since it was already on hand)

A handful of sprinkles (optional)

  1. Before you whip that cream, combine the cream and the sugar in a medium sized saucepan. Bring to a gentle boil over medium heat to dissolve the sugar.
  2. Once dissolved, remove from the heat and pour the mixture into the bowl you will be beating the cream in. Cool in fridge.
  3. While that is chillin’, whisk together the condensed milk and cake batter in a large bowl.
  4. For the frosting, scoop a third out into a small microwave-safe bowl. Pop the frosting in the microwave on the power of 80, for a minute, or until you see the frosting get milky. The aim for this is to just get the frosting smooth enough to mix with the milk.
  5. Add the melted frosting in with the milk mixture. If you would like to add anything that reminds you of cake, then feel free to add it now to this mixture. I added sprinkles.
  6. Take the chilled cream mixture from the fridge and beat on high until stiff peaks form.
  7. Fold (do not stir) the cream into the milk mixture. Place mixture in tupperware suitable for freezing, then put in the freezer. Wait a day until it is completely frozen and enjoy!!
    Amie's Cake Batter Ice Cream

    Amie's Cake Batter Ice Cream

As I said earlier, the options for flavor are limitless. Get creative! I hope this has inspired you to go outside-the-machine-box and try some of your very own homemade ice cream. Enjoy!

God bless,

Amie Hurst, of Lindley’s Photography

Jared Lindley the proud owner of 3LP & Lindley’s Photography

Winner of the knot Best of Wedding Photography Georgia 2010 & 2011.

A Professional photographer with a creative style. Serving Warner Robins, Macon, Byron, Perry, Atlanta, Roswell, Buckhead, Marietta & all of the Middle Georgia Area with professional photography.

Weddings – Senior Portraits – Boudoir – Family portraits

www.my3lp.com & www.Lindleysphotography.com

